Back to school

classroom

 

OVERHEARD

Two young mom’s:

A – The teacher wants them to read 15 min a day.
B – But they’re boys.
A – I know. Sports are more important to them.

Teacher of grade 7:

Student:  Mr. R. your hair isn’t really blond.
Mr. R.:  Nope. It’s very silver white.
Student:  But why? You’re only like 20 something, right???
Mr. R.  Oh, yeah, 20 something. 😂😂😂

Principal of junior high:

We’ve got kids who have come from refugee camps, so things like getting those kids to line up is a challenge because for them what they saw in a line up was, “I’m going to have to beat my neighbor to get to the rice.” It’s trauma inducing. So,  in this school we have to address our processes and how we do things because we can traumatize the kids just by doing stuff that we take for granted.

School secretary:

Student: Mrs. A. I can’t go home.
Mrs. A. Why not?

Student: I can’t unlock my bike.
Mrs. A. Why not?

Student: I swallowed the key.

 

 

http://www.darlenejonesauthor.com

5 comments on “Back to school

  1. It may take some time to teach kids that lining up is not always about food and survival, but it’s one of the things they need to learn to make the switch to a more civilized (and not as needy) western society. Even in many European countries, they push in lineups and it’s something that has always irked me. I understand where the pushiness comes from, but kids can learn.

  2. Yes, the kids will learn, but teachers need to be aware of what the “triggers” might be for unexpected behaviours. I had Chilean students in my junior high classes and I invited a policeman as guest speaker. I had no idea that would freak the kids out as they were used to fleeing from the police and all of them had hiding places in their homes for when the police came.

Leave a Reply

