3 questions – how would you answer?

Recently I was asked these intriguing questions in an author interview. How would you answer?

1) If you could change one thing about our world, what would it be and why?

Oh man! I thought I’d write a book to answer this question. One book became four and now you want me to answer in one paragraph?

There are so many things that need changing. Equal distribution of wealth, excellent education for all, an end to religious and tribal enmity, no more drug use and abuse … This list could go on and on, but if you’re going to restrict me to one thing, I have to say I would like to see an end to all wars and armed conflicts. So much blood shed for what purpose? Do I think it’s possible to stop war? Pessimistically, no. Realistically, no. But wouldn’t it be nice?

Please don’t get the idea, by this answer, that my books are heavy and dismal. They do deal with war, but they have adventure, a few fight scenes, humor and love stories too.

2) At what age were you the happiest? What triggered such joy?

I’m happiest now. I’m retired and I’ve discovered that after building a career and raising children, I can now put myself first. That’s not as selfish as it sounds. It just means no alarm clocks, ample time for writing, and best of all time to devote to my granddaughter. Raising my own kids I was too busy working and worrying about money and too tired to truly appreciate all that a child goes through. Now I have the life experience and time to focus on my granddaughter I can fully appreciate the developmental processes she is going through.

3) What is the number one lie you tell yourself? How is that working out?

That I can stay away from chocolate and it’s not working well. I’m a chocoholic. If I buy it, I eat it. I can leave pastry, hard candy, cookies (unless they have chocolate in them), pies, and cakes alone. In fact they can sit in the house for weeks, but chocolate? Even the tiniest morsel hidden in the back cupboard will find me. The only solution is to not have chocolate in the house at all, but that’s torture of the cruelest sort.

Now, pick one of these questions and give us your answer.

4 comments on “3 questions – how would you answer?

  1. If I could change one thing in the world, I would make people stop fighting. I’d have to make another change too, and that is that women would have rights equal to those of men all over the world.

Leave a Reply

