A reader or a writer, which would you rather be?

Oh boy, I have to say I dislike either/or questions because most of the time I want both. Greedy, I guess, but I can’t imagine writing without reading and I lived too many years of reading without writing to stop now.

As a kid I always had my nose in a book. I carried it around while I dusted around the ornaments and doilies. Of course my mother made me put the book down and dust properly. Putting a book down was agony!

Each Christmas Eve we were allowed to open one present. Good thing it was obvious by feel which was the book. Problem was I finished reading it that evening, but then I could always reread it Christmas Day.

Sometime during my teens the desire to write began to loom in my heart. But, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I followed that dream. And now, here I am with three books published, and the fourth a work in progress. Now, I can’t imagine a day without writing.

There are many joys in writing—creating the story, the characters who become friends, playing with the plot line, throwing in a fight or two, and of course a love triangle (that’s the romance, right?). In my story, I have the fun of adding magical elements with the otherworldly characters who give the heroine special powers.

And you? How do reading and writing fit in your life?

17 comments on “A reader or a writer, which would you rather be?

  1. There is no way I could choose one over the other. That is like asking which pet I love more than another. Both reading and writing are parts that makes me whole.

    My wife is my best critic and inspiration to write.

    • I’ve always been a reader and always will be, and like you, once I started writing a few years ago it became as essential to me as reading. Kudos to your wife. May family is so supportive and I have a great writing partner. Can’t imagine the long haul of writing and marketing without that support.

  2. I started writing from a desire to tell stories the way I wanted them to unfold. I missed the world-building and character forming elements of role-playing games (way back in my young days) and although reading was (and still is) very enjoyable, it still felt too passive – as if I was watching TV and not actively doing something. Ironically now I realize that you can create worlds, events and people, but what happens next, when the passion of creativity runs fast and wild, is most assuredly out of your hands. You simply become the vessel through which the story unfolds. Oh well, there’ll always be a good book to seek comfort in afterwards 🙂

    • I love the way you’ve expressed this. I, too, write to tell the story the way I want to tell it. It’s exciting when the story takes over and goes in directions I didn’t necessarily plan or intend.

  3. I love to write, but I can’t really claim to be a writer if I don’t read. I could just read, but soon the voices in my head when it gets so loud that I couldn’t concentrate on what I was reading!

  4. I can say since I started writing, I cannot read a novel for full pleasure because I am always seeing how the writer is creating his world as opposed to mine. Yet, if I read an exciting novel I forget about all these things and I actually enjoy the book. Except this rarely happens.

    • I agree. Since I’ve started writing, I’ve become a much more critical reader. I see flaws that I know an author shouldn’t make and I stop reading, but when I do find a good book – it’s WOW!

  5. Well, I do love to read but I find that when I’m in the middle of writing, I tend to concentrate on that to the exclusion of reading. I get very involved in my characters – perhaps I don’t want to taint them somehow. Love your blog, by the way…..and congratulations on your upcoming fourth book!

    • I know what you mean. When I’m writing the characters take over and all my thoughts are for them. Thank you for your compliments. I didn’t know how much fun writing could be. Now, I can’t imagine not writing.

Leave a Reply

